2012 in review

by iowenomore

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 7,300 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 12 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

This up above was in my email so I thought I’d post it. I haven’t been to this blog in quite some time. I’ve been very busy getting my financial life in order. It’s been pretty exciting and I have accomplished a lot since reading Joe’s blog. The day that I received the deed to my house in the mail was an awesome day! I was actually jumping up & down with excitement! I took pictures of it and sent it out to my family members. When some of them asked me how I did it, I sent them to Joe’s blog.

When Joe’s blog first ended, I found myself with no internet for quite awhile. I live wayyy out in the country and we had a change of internet providers which were much cheaper and faster. Not long after they came, they decided to make some major changes which was great for me but would take some time so I was offline for awhile. It worked out though because I became intimately familiar with having yard sales. I work weekends, at night, so the weekends were out of the question. I made some fliers and hung them up all over town, remember, I live in a pretty small town.

I decided to get creative with these yard sales because of me not being able to have them on weekends. In my fliers I invited everyone in town to come to my yard sales on Mon & Tues and have lunch on me. I would BBQ burgers and hot dogs and make some lemonade. I’d have everything ready by noon for peoples’ lunch breaks. It started out slow and I had my phone number posted everywhere. After the 1st week that went so~so, I started getting calls asking if I was going to do it again the following week. I thought I’d give it a try and I’m really glad I did! For the next 2 months I did BBQ’s at my house every Mon & Tues until everything was gone! It became the social hour (or 2 if you were the boss) twice a week but I couldn’t complain as I was selling on average about $500.00 worth of stuff a day. Don’t forget, I’m old, with many past hobbies and a shopaholic as well. The BBQ’s actually went from 11:30 am to 3:00 pm.

I had tried ebay but it was a little overwhelming for me as I had a lot of heavy stuff to get rid of at first, and shipping wouldn’t have made it worth it. The BBQ’s turned out to be a lot of fun, I made a lot of money and have paid down quite a bit on my land payment as well as my school loans. I feel so free now! No more rooms full of unneeded items! I had items that were still brand new, in the package, never opened. I had little stickies on them with peoples’ names on them to remind me who they were for, for their birthdays, xmas, etc. So it wasn’t exactly hoarding, it was a lot of gifts that I changed my mind about giving. The problem with me and shopping was that I would shop all year long for events and I’d put the gifts away. Then as someones birthday got closer, I’d see something that I thought they’d love even more and buy that instead. That, on top of all the hobbies I’ve had over the years, equaled a lot of brand new items that needed to go. There were older items as well. I had 3 entertainment centers that weren’t needed anymore. They were huge! No way I could sell those on ebay and make it worth it. I sold cars, furniture, tools, a ton of clothes and regular household items.

Anyways, I’m getting closer to my goals and as of tomorrow, I will be only 2 years away from retirement! In these next 2 years I will make sure that the school loans and the land will be paid off. Come retirement, I will no longer have any of these payments! I will be the happiest camper ever when I no longer write checks for these things! Yes, I still write checks. I am soo glad that this past year I had stumbled upon Joe’s blog. If it weren’t for him I’d be in the same boat that I’ve been in for years. He opened my eyes and gave me the jump start I needed to pay everything off and live debt free. For this, I’d like to thank him from the bottom of my heart. If you haven’t gotten his book, go here, it will change the way you think about your finances. He has 2 books out. Read them! You won’t be disappointed!

See you next year!

